Full Circle

Many sewists start out sewing circle skirts, so suprisingly this is my first. I found some polyester gaberdine in my local op-shop but didn't buy it because I thought I had too much fabric (well, I do but what sewer doesn't) and didn't have a plan with what to make with it. But then, I started thinking about making a circle skirt while I was on holiday and realised that fabric would have been perfect. I kicked myself for not buying it when I had the chance. So it was with little hope that I went back to that op-shop weeks later to check out their fabric bin, and lo and behold, there is was, still waiting for me! To top it all off, the lady that sold it to me only charged me $4.50 for the 4 and a half metres. That's only 50c/m (they usually charge $2/m which is still cheap though)! It was meant to be. But this skirt had to wait it's turn unitl after I finished making my first Elisalex and then the peplum top.

I looked at a few tutorials like this one from By Hand London and just used the measurements I wanted. I was very eager to start this project and cut it all out right after I finished the peplum top, but then I froze. I haven't had a great track record with getting skirt waistbands to sit right and I think it's because in the past I've been a bit slack with using interfacing when necessary. So, it just sat there for about a week until I found the courage to continue (I'm such a wuss!). I don't know why I was worried, I've come a long way with my sewing since my first few skirts.
I included in seam pockets (big suprise) and used an invisible zip from my stash. (I only had a white zip so I think I'll paint the zipper pull with nail polish to make it less noticeable.) When I first sewed on the waist band and tried it on, I got this;
So, I unpick that waist band, cut a new one and cut the inside circle (waist) slightly larger, then tried again. Sucess! I let the skirt hang for about 24 hours before I trimmed and evened out the hem. Then I attached some home-made bias tape to the hem and hand stitched to finished. The hand stitching took me FOR-wait for it-EVER. I worked it out and there is about 4.5 metres of hem on this skirt.
When I originally designed this skirt, I was going to have a quote from Pride and Prejudice all the way around the bottom hem. My first idea was to print the quote on some Lesley Riley's TAP and my second was to use my Stained fabric pens and handwrite the quote. After I finished the skirt my husband said it liked it as is, so now I'm not sure if I should add the quote or not. It really was quiet easy, I don't know why I haven't made one before now. My husband likes it so much that he said I need one in red, and when I told him I didn't have any red fabric, he told me I could always go to the fabric store and buy some. Does he understand how much damage I can do at a fabric store? Especially with his blessing?
Total cost of this project: Fabric $3 (I only used about 3 metres of the total 4.5 that I had), dark mid weight fuseable interfacing that I bought for a different project (maybe ~$1), invisible zip (harvested from a failed project), 2 hook and eye closures, home-made bias tape and thread all from my stash.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Thrifting

2 responses to “Full Circle

  1. Ahhh, love, love this! There is nothing more comfy than a full circle skirt =D And that’s awesome how cheap your fabric was!

Leave a Reply

