Terrariums

When I was meandering through the internet last week I was inspired to make terrariums (or terraria if you're that way inclinded) with my daughter. I didn't realise how easy they are to make. The hardest part was finding everything I needed here, and it probably didn't need to be.

All you need are:

  • Glass jar or container
  • Rocks
  • Charcoal
  • Potting Soil
  • Plants
  • Ornaments (optional)

I found some great tutorials and infomation about how go make terrariums like this Martha Steward video and this guy who has heaps of tutorials.

The charcoal I ended up finding was horticultural grade charcoal and was in huge chunks, which I had to try and crush up. We had gold and purple rocks. We found all the plants we used in our terrariums in our own garden. I had actually bought a couple of plants for my terrarium, but they they were too big for my jar, but I'd read/watched a few tutorials that said to look in your garden, so look we did. Most of the plants are just the same type of moss that grows under our lemon tree, but we also used clover and oxalis. I was amazed at all the different types of plants and moss we had growing unsolicited in our backyard. The ornaments were either plastic animals or things we made from air drying clay (painted with acrylic paints and then sealed with PVA glue). My daughter is 4 1/2, the toadstools should be obvious, the sad little guy up the back is my sad attempt at a gnome.

I had so much fun, way more than my daughter, and would have kept making them if I hadn't run out of jars. The jar at the very top was a great find at my local op shop this morning. I'll be keeping a look out for cool jars to make more terrariums in the not-to-distant future. In fact, I've already started making the ornaments for the next lot.

But I think what I really need to make is a miniture TARDIS, now that would be cool. Being a geek is cool, right?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Terrarium

Leave a Reply

