Yoga Pants

When I came to the realisation that I needed to sew more practical items and less fancy dresses, I was a bit bummed, but it did make me rethink what I really needed in my wardrobe. However, if I only made “boring” practical clothes, I'd soon get bored with sewing, so I decided on a happy medium, with a bit of both. To start off the practical sewing first I made my coat, and I've been thinking for a while that I needed new yoga pants. The issue with making yoga pants has always been finding the right fabric. But, while shopping at Spotlight for another project, there it was on the sale table for $3 a metre. A thick bright blue cotton/elastane blend with 4 way stretch. Ok, so blue wouldn't have been my first choice for yoga pants, but now people in my yoga class well get a joyful flash of colour whilst doing their downward dog. Your welcome!

For the pattern, I just traced around a pair of leggings, with a bit more room at the bottom and gave them a yoga waist band, obviously. I used my overlocker (serger) for the construction and only used my sewing machine with a twin needle for the pant leg hems. I actually finished these pants almost 2 weeks ago and it has taken me this long to photograph them and blog about it. I've already finished my next project, the beautiful Elisalex Dress. I also made a quick no sew yoga mat holder with some scraps.

Between the shrinkage of the fabric after washing and a few marks on the fabric, there wasn't much fabric left but, lucky for me, just enough for a bonus project. I made another knit pencil skirt like this one, making this one exactly the same.

Here it is being modeled by my extra hippy vintage dressmakers dummy. I'd consider buying a new one if I thought that it would mimic my body shape, but alas, no dummy I've find has their hip measurements go as small as mine actually are. Not to mention my stubby torso. And on that bombshell, I leave you. Until next time, good night.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

