Pram Insert

I finally finished this pram insert for some friends on the weekend, but I forgot to take a photo of the finished product, so imagine you see the holes for the shoulder straps, ok?

I used a thin weight cotton for the front, and a polar fleece for the back, although there is no real front or back as I made it reversable. I bought a cotton/wool blend batting for the middle and self made bias tape for the edging. Using measurements I took from the pram, I drafted up a pattern for the insert and traced this on to the cotton layer. I then cut all layers slightly larger and “quilted” them together. After all the layers were sewn together, I cut them out to the dimensions required. I thought this way if any of the layers moved during the “quilting” stage I didn't have to worry. Then came binding the edges.

I realised I needed 1″ double fold bias tape as the 1/2″ bias binding I had was way too small. I still wanted to use a patterned bias tape and I decided to make my own again. I only have 1/2″ and 3/4″ Clover bias tape makers, so I thought this would be a good opportunity to try out a few different techniques for making bias tape. Last time I used the method from the Colette handbook and Prudent Baby, but I found them both very time consuming and fiddly. This time I cut all my strips with my rotory cutter and sewed the strip together one by one. This was suprisingly much quicker. I used the pin method (you need a long pin) to make the 1″ bias tape, and it worked a dream! Who knew that the simple cutting/sewing/pin method would be the easiest way? I wish I had known this before spending money on the bias tape makers, but you live and learn.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Sewing

One response to “Pram Insert

  1. Pingback: I Made a Coat | mangoesinsyrup

Leave a Reply

